With Online Defensive Driving, Get Ready to Kiss That Ticket Goodbye!
At Defensive Driving San Antonio, we understand that getting a ticket is hard but we believe that getting rid of it shouldn’t be. However, if this is your first rodeo, here are some answers to put your mind at ease as to just how simple and stress free we make the whole ticket dismissal process.
What type of course is recognized for ticket dismissal?
Your court instructions may have indicated that you will need to take a defensive driving or, perhaps, a driver safety course. Good news is, both of those are exactly the same. Whether the course you choose is called defensive driving or driver safety or even traffic school, they will all do the trick. The only thing that you definitely want to make sure of is that the course is in fact approved by the Texas Education Agency. Otherwise, you may find yourself taking a course all over again. By the way, in case you’re curious, Defensive Driving San Antonio is in fact a TEA approved joint.
Do you have to get a ticket to take defensive driving?
While ticket dismissal is far and away the number one reason why people take defensive driving, it is not the only reason that people choose to take it. Sometimes drivers are asked to take it by their employer. In other cases, people take the course in order to become eligible for a discount on their auto insurance rates. And, there are a few brave individuals who will take a defensive driving course just as a refresher so that they may remain the safe drivers that they are.
We do feel the need to add this note: Unfortunately, if you take the course for something other than ticket dismissal and then get a ticket, your course completion certificate is not retroactive. But, hey, imagine what fun you’ll have taking the course a second time!
How often can drivers dismiss tickets with defensive driving?
As a rule, Texas drivers are allowed to use defensive driving to dismiss one ticket every 12 months. However, it is permissible to take the course at any time with a judge’s permission, so it never hurts to ask.
Can I dismiss a ticket and get an insurance discount?
After successfully completing the course, we will be sending two certificates. One is for the court and the other for your insurance man. If your insurance carrier is among the hundreds that offer “good driver” discounts, this second certificate should put money in your pocket.
Why does the court want my driving record?
Generally speaking, the court will request a copy of your driving record to determine if you are eligible for ticket dismissal. As was stated above, the general rule in Texas is that drivers can dismiss tickets only once in a 12 month period. If you know you have a ticket, be honest with the judge when you request defensive driving.
Just like your credit report, it is a good idea to check your driving record from time to time. Any errors could wind up costing you more for your auto insurance so make sure that it is accurate.
Which is better for defensive driving: online or in a classroom?
Isn’t that kind of like asking Jerry Jones whether we should root for the Cowboys or some other team?
If you’re lucky enough to find one with a good teacher, the classroom version of defensive driving is just fine. But, even with a good teacher, you still have to find it convenient location and surrender a 6 hour chunk of your life to get your course completed. On the other hand, on online course allows you the opportunity to take your course whenever and wherever is convenient to you.
Is the course really 6 hours long?
While we would love to say otherwise, the answer is yes. Since it is the state that is making the rules, we have to play along. A couple of nice things to note: One, of the 6 hours the state requires, one of them is required to be in the form of breaks. Two, when you choose to take your course online, those 6 hours don’t have to be completed all at one time. With Texas Defensive Driving Online, you can log in and out of the course as often as you wish. The choice is yours.
Is there a final exam I will have to pass if the end of the course?
While some online courses wait until the end of the course to throw you a big final exam, we believe and making it easier. Instead of one big final exam, we break the test into short, multiple-choice quizzes at the end of each unit. That way, all the information you are asked about is still fresh on your brain. If you don’t quite make it on your first try, we will give you as many chances if you need to make the grade you want.
If my court date is coming up soon, can I print my own certificate?
Unfortunately, the state requires course completion certificates must be delivered by mail. However, if your certificates due date is coming up quickly, we offer several expedited shipping options so that you can get your certificate to the court on time.
What if I need help while I am taking the course?
Even if the best time for you to work on your courses 2:00 AM on Thursday morning, we’re with you all the way. Our defensive driving specialists are here around the clock and around the calendar. 24/7/365, we are always here for you!
What if I sign up and then feel a little “buyer’s remorse”?
Our $25.00 course fee not only comes with a low price guarantee but with a money back guarantee as well. If you start the course and decide it is not for you, request a refund within 3 days to get all your money back as long as you haven’t completed the course..