Online Ticket Dismissal with Defensive Driving San Antonio

So you got yourself a ticket. Relax, it happens. With 41 million speeding tickets written in America every year, they were bound to get you sooner or later.

While receiving a ticket is never a pleasant experience, there is forgiveness available. The state of Texas allows drivers to dismiss tickets with a defensive driving course once a year figuring that a better informed driver will be less likely to make the same mistake in the future. If you have never dismissed a ticket before, following the easy steps below will help make sure everything goes smoothly for you.

First Step – Get the Court’s OK

After receiving a ticket, you will be required to make an appearance before the court. Depending on the city or county, this appearance will generally need to be made between 10 and 30 days from the issuance of the ticket. Pay special attention to the date and instructions on the ticket. Failure to appear is doubly bad as it will disqualify you from ticket dismissal and may cost you more in additional fines.

At your appearance, let the judge or court clerk know that you are interested in ticket dismissal via defensive driving. Once you receive the court’s approval, you’ll be required to pay a reduced fine and will be given instruction as to when you must have your course completion certificate returned to the court. The court may also request a copy of your driving record. In most cases, both of these documents will need to be returned to the court within 90 days.

Second Step – Get a Course and Get It Done

Once the court has said okay, it is now time to choose your course. While defensive driving classes are still held in a traditional classroom setting, these days more and more people are opting to complete their course online.

While a traditional classroom course is fine, it does offer some disadvantages. It may be difficult for you to find a classroom that is located conveniently to you that offers a course at a time you can work into your schedule. Most people cannot afford to lose time from work or to give up six hours of their life at one sitting. Because of these factors, an online course may be your better choice.

With an online course, the classroom comes to you. You are free to fully customize your course progress to fit within the framework of your hectic schedule. With the ability to enter and exit the course as many times as you like, you have the ability to look after those things important to you while still completing that thing you have to do.

Whether you choose a traditional or an online course, make sure to select one that has been approved by the Texas Education Agency. Only a TEA approved course will be accepted by the court to dismiss your ticket. By the way, rest assured, the course offered by Defensive Driving San Antonio is TEA approved!

The All-Important Last Step

As anyone will tell you, the most important part of running a race is to finish it. Make sure you get your certificate of course completion, your driving record (if required) and any other documentation that the court requested back to the court on time. Just as with a failure to appear, failing to submit your paperwork will forfeit your right to ticket dismissal and will subject you to further fines. Having a ticket entered on your driving record instead of having it dismissed can be costly at auto insurance and license renewal time. It’s important to keep it clean.

Ticket Dismissal – It’s As Easy as 123

Step 1 – Get the green light from the court

Step 2 – Complete your TEA approved course

Step 3 – Get your stuff to the court

Okay, and there IS a Step 4 – Sit back and relax knowing that your driving record will never see your ticket.

Dismiss your ticket and save on your insurance with our TEA approved defensive driving course!